Ukuvalelisa

10 Miniatures for Recorder solo

1. Ouverture
2. The Storyteller
3. Her beautiful Eyes
4. Lullaby
5. Hidden Surprises
6. Darkness
7. At the Beach
8. On your own
9. A new start
10. Farewell

The choice of instruments is free; the music sheet contains all pieces in a version for alto recorder and for tenor recorder (or their higher or lower relatives).

These pieces have gone a long way! It began in 2015 when I wrote two suites for my friend Marcin Oleś, a great composer and double bass player from Kraków. I dedicated one of the two suites, Umbalisi mabali (The Storyteller) to my father, who had passed away in that autumn, and who had been a great father, artist, and storyteller.

In early 2019 Laura Faber from Seattle had tragically lost her son the previous year and looked for music that reflected her experience, and she came across Umbalisi mabali on my website.  She asked me to adapt the pieces for the bass recorder. I adapted four pieces, wrote six more and called the collection Ukuvalelisa, which in Xhosa means Farewell. The movements cover all kinds of feelings and memories. As Laura Faber wrote: „What I have experienced so intensely since my son died is that life is not divided out neatly into separate episodes. There is joy amidst the deepest sadness, a wistful longing at times of joy, and a marvelous and bewildering jumble quite often. Your music shows this so well, and these solos really represent that constant mix of emotion.“ Indeed, there are the rather jubilant Ouverture, Hidden Surprises and At the Beach, the pensive On our Own, the tender Lullaby and Her beautiful eyes, the melancholic Darkness, the smooth Storyteller and the encouraging A new start. The last piece is an attempt to say farewell. But I guess it’s not really possible to say farewell to someone who was so near, so important, and still so mysterious like my father was for me. Hence, the end is open.

You can play these miniatures on Alto, Tenor, Voice Flute, Bass, or even Great Bass or Contra Bass. I would prefer a rather dark sound, like Tenor and lower, but I also realize that the pieces will be easier to play on an Alto. You can even mix different recorders: António Carrilho used ten recorders at the premiere, one for each piece. Hidden Surprises he even played on a soprano. The Storyteller, Her beautiful eyes, Darkness and At the beach should be played as if two instruments communicate with each other. While Ouverture, Storyteller, and At the Beach should be played in a steady groove, all other pieces can be played with rubato, taking freedom in phrasing, accelerating, slowing down, hesitating, or rushing, to increase the emotional depth.

I wish to thank Laura Faber for commissioning this work, Marcin Oleś, who made me compose the first four pieces, António Carrilho for the wonderful premiere in Hervey Bay, Australia, in February 2020, and of course my father who taught, encouraged and inspired me all my life.

Here are some videos from the performance in Sydney on February 19:

No.4: Lullaby
https://youtu.be/SzJzVtXPDgk

No. 3: Her Beautiful Eyes
https://youtu.be/7PO_IY9YcS0

No. 5: Hidden surprises
https://youtu.be/A9RVwwE19Jg

No. 8: On your own
https://youtu.be/9k0BhGmm7R8

Have fun listening!

number of pages: 
24
Price: 
14,90 Euro

Ukuvalelisa

10 Miniaturen für Blockflöte solo

1. Ouverture
2. The Storyteller
3. Her beautiful Eyes
4. Lullaby
5. Hidden Surprises
6. Darkness
7. At the Beach
8. On your own
9. A new start
10. Farewell

Die Besetzung ist frei; die Noten enthalten alle Stücke in einer Version für Altblockflöte und einer Version für Tenorblockflöte (und ihrer höheren oder tieferen Verwandten.)

Diese Stücke sind einen langen Weg gegangen! Es begann 2015, als ich zwei Solo-Suiten schrieb für meinen Freund Marcin Oleś, einen Kontrabassisten aus Krakau. Ich widmete eine der beiden Suiten, Umbalisi mabali (Der Geschichtenerzähler) meinem Vater, der in jenem Herbst gestorben war, und ein großartiger Vater, Künstler und Geschichtenerzähler gewesen war.

Anfang 2019 suchte Laura Faber aus Seattle nach Musik, um den tragischen Verlust ihres Sohnes im vergangenen Jahr zu bewältigen, und stieß auf meiner Homepage auf Umbalisi mabali. Sie fragte mich, ob ich diese Stücke nicht für Bassflöte bearbeiten könnte. Ich bearbeitete vier Stücke, komponierte sechs neu und nannte die Sammlung Ukuvalelisa, was auf Xhosa "Abschied" bedeutet. In den Sätzen geht es um alle Arten von Erinnerungen und Gefühlen. Laura Faber schrieb dazu: "Was ich so intensiv erfahren habe, seit mein Sohn gestorben ist, ist dass das Leben nicht in verschiedene Episoden zerfällt. Es gibt Freude inmitten tiefster Trauer, plötzliche Wehmut in Zeiten der Freude, und ziemlich oft ein wunderbares und verwirrendes Durcheinander. Deine Musik zeigt das sehr gut, und diese Soli spiegeln wirklich diese konstante Mischung von Emotionen wider." Tatsächlich sind da die fröhlich-jubilierenden Ouverture, Hidden Surprises und At the Beach, das nachdenkliche On your Own, die zärtlich-liebevollen Lullaby und Her beautiful Eyes, das melancholische Darkness, der groovige Storyteller und das ermutigende A new start. Das letzte Stück ist der Versuch, Abschied zu nehmen. Aber vermutlich ist es nicht wirklich möglich, sich von jemand zu verabschieden, der so nah und wichtig für mich war und doch so geheimnisvoll blieb wie mein Vater. Daher bleibt das Ende offen.

Ihr könnt diese Miniaturen auf der Altblockflöte spielen, dem Tenor, der Voice Flute, einem Bass oder gar Grossbass. Ich bevorzuge einen dunkleren Klang, aber mir ist bewusst, dass die Stücke auf höheren Flöten einfacher zu spielen sind. Ihr könnt die Flöten auch je nach Stück wechseln - António Carrilho hat bei der Uraufführung zehn verschiedene Flöten verwendet, für Hidden Surprises sogar eine Sopranblockflöte. The Storyteller, Her beautiful eyes, Darkness und At the beach sind so zu spielen, als ob zwei verschiedene Instrumente miteinander kommunzieren. Während Ouverture, Storyteller und At the Beach in einem gleichmäßigen Groove gespielt werden müssen, könnt Ihr Euch bei den anderen Stücken viel Freiheit in Tempo und Phrasierung nehmen. Lasst Eure Seele sprechen!

Ich danke Laura Faber für den Kompositionsauftrag, Marcin Oleś, der mich dazu brachte, die "Urfassungen" zu schreiben, António Carrilho für die wunderbare Uraufführung in Hervey Bay, Australien, im Februar 2020, und natürlich meinem Vater, der mich mein Leben lang gelehrt, inspiriert und ermutigt hat.

Hier sind einige Videos von der Aufführung von Ukuvalelisa im Sydney Konservatorium vom 19.Feburar 2020:

Nr.4: Lullaby
https://youtu.be/SzJzVtXPDgk

Nr. 3: Her Beautiful Eyes
https://youtu.be/7PO_IY9YcS0

Nr. 5: Hidden surprises
https://youtu.be/A9RVwwE19Jg

Nr. 8: On your own
https://youtu.be/9k0BhGmm7R8

Viel Spaß beim Hören!

Seitenanzahl: 
24
Preis: 
14,90 Euro