Video

Here you see the Tokyo Recorder Orchestra playing the premiere of the first movement of REIWA with the title THE EMPEROR IS COMING in Tokyo on September 29, 2019. REIWA is the name of the new Japanese era, that started in Japan with the coronation of the new Tennō Naruhito on May 1, 2019. It is translated with beautiful harmony and follows the last era of HEISEI. When I read about the ceremonies...
Here you can see my friend António Carrilho and me at the premiere of Cádiz's second movement THE WIND OF THE SEA on February 19 at the Sydney Conservatory. A very wonderful evening - and our last concert before the corona lockdown. Enjoy the music - I hope you can hear the waves!
Here you can see the Tokyo Recorder Ensemble with the premiere of my 16 variations on a Russian birthday song at the Tokyo Recorder Festival on August 24, 2019. Well, to be precise, it is an abbreviated version of the variations, since the ensemble only had a time window of ten minutes . A great festival, a great atmosphere - and a wonderful premiere. Many thanks to Takashi Yasui, Kenji Kaneko,...
Here you can see the fabulous Boreas Quartet Bremen with CONSOLATION, the third movement of my African Suite No. 20, IXESHA (time). I had the image of a mother who calms and cradles her child who has been injured. The calming melody comes from the song Oh Muzungu, which I wrote for my a cappella group LaLeLu. Perhaps it is this vocal origin that has made this one of my most popular pieces, and at...
This is the fourth, and apparently most popular, of the five movements of my Spanish impressionist suite CÁDIZ. You can see my wonderful musician friends Clea Galhano (from Brazil) and Rene Izquierdo (from Cuba) at the premiere in St. Paul on June 9, 2019. Have fun!
Here you can see the three exceptional musicians Gritli Kohler-Nyvall, Thomas Goetschel and Carsten Lorenz at the premiere of the first movement of the SUITE SICILIANO on March 30th. in Villingen, which I wrote for her in the same winter. It was my first composition for this line-up, and certainly not the last one! The three instruments simply fit together wonderfully. The crazy idea of writing a...
Here you can see Iris Höfling (bass flute), Anna Rheingans (piccolo) and Hsin Lee (marimba) with SULA INYEMBEZI (wipe your tears), the second movement of my African Suite No. 8 INJABULO. Recorded in Bremerhaven in February 2017. A very wonderful performance, I think. The piece is also available in a version for two flutes and piano. Have fun!
Here you can see my longstanding musician friend Ebba-Maria Künning-Zeijl and me, how we serenade my daughter for her 21st birthday. Because THIS ONE MOMENT is about her birth on a beautiful April morning in 1998. It is the second movement of my African Suite No. 27 TELL THEM I'VE HAD A WONDERFUL LIFE, presumably the last sentence of Ludwig Wittgenstein. The piece has a turbulent history: I...
This is the second movement of my African Suite No. 18 IMIBALA YENJABULO (The Colors of Happiness) that I wrote in 2017 for recorder legend Meng-Heng Chen from Taiwan. This recording I did with my longterm-recorder friend Ebba-Maria Künning-Zeijl from Hamburg in Plön in November 2018. Probably through this video ILLUMINATED INSIDE became one of my most ordered and most played pieces. Thank you,...

Biography

Sören Sieg (*1966) learned to play the recorder, violin and piano as a child and later the saxophone, trumpet, guitar and drums. He studied Sociology, Politics and Music in Hamburg and Bielefeld. He toured with his a cappella group LaLeLu for 18 years throughout Germany, Austria and Switzerland. Since 2012 he has lived as a composer and author in Hamburg. He has published ten books and numerous works for classical ensembles that are played all around the world. read more »

Video

Hier seht Ihr das Tokyo Recorder Orchestra mit der Premiere von THE EMPEROR IS COMING, des ersten Satzes meiner Afrikanischen Suite Nr. 28 REIWA, am 29.9.2019 in Tokyo in der Yamaha Music Hall. REIWA ist der Name des neuen Zeitalters, das in Japan mit der Krönung des neuen Tennō Naruhito am 1. Mai 2019 begonnen hat. Reiwa wird übersetzt mit Schöne Harmonie und löst das alte Zeitalter HEISEI ab....
Hier seht Ihr meinen Freund António Carrilho und mich bei der Uraufführung des zweiten Satzes von Cádiz DER WIND VOM MEER am 19. Februar im Konservatorium von Sydney. Ein ganz wunderbarer Abend - und unser letztes Konzert vorm Corona-Lockdown. Viel Spaß mit der Musik - ich hoffe, Ihr könnt die Wellen hören!
Hier seht Ihr das Tokyo Recorder Ensemble mit der Uraufführung meiner 16 Variationen über ein russisches Geburtstagslied auf dem Tokyo Recorder Festival am 24.August 2019. Nun, genau gesagt ist es eine gekürzte Fassung der Variationen, da das Ensemble nur ein Zeitfenster von zehn Minuten hatte. Ein tolles Festival, eine tolle Stimmung - und eine wunderbare Uraufführung. Vielen Dank an Takashi...
Hier seht Ihr das fabelhafte Boreas Quartett Bremen mit CONSOLATION, dem dritten Satz meiner Afrikanischen Suite Nr. 20, IXESHA (Zeit). Ich hatte das Bild einer Mutter, die ihr Kind beruhigt und wiegt, das sich verletzt hat. Die Beruhigungsmelodie stammt aus dem Lied Oh Muzungu, das ich für meine a-cappella-Gruppe LaLeLu geschrieben hatte. Vielleicht ist es dieser Herkunft aus dem Gesang, die...
Dies ist der vierte, und allem Anschein nach beliebteste der fünf Sätze meiner spanisch-impressionistischen Suite CÁDIZ. Ihr seht meine wunderbaren Musikerfreunde Clea Galhano (aus Brasilien) und Rene Izquierdo (aus Kuba) bei der Uraufführung in St. Paul am 9. Juni 2019. Viel Spaß!
Hier seht Ihr die drei Ausnahmemusiker Gritli Kohler-Nyvall, Thomas Goetschel und Carsten Lorenz bei der Uraufführung des ersten Satzes der SUITE SICILIANO am 30.3. in Villingen, die ich im selben Winter für sie geschrieben hatte. Es war meine erste Komposition für diese Besetzung, und sicherlich nicht die letzte! Die drei Instrumente passen einfach wunderbar zusammen. Die verrückte Idee, eine...
Hier seht Ihr Iris Höfling (Bassflöte), Anna Rheingans (Piccoloflöte) und Hsin Lee (Marimba) mit SULA INYEMBEZI (Trockne Deine Tränen), dem zweiten Satz meiner afrikanischen Suite Nr. 8 INJABULO. Aufgenommen in Bremerhaven im Februar 2017. Eine ganz wunderbare Aufnahme, wie ich finde. Das Stück gibt es übrigens auch in einer Fassung für zwei Querflöten und Klavier. Viel Spaß!
Hier seht Ihr meine langjährige Musikerfreundin Ebba-Maria Künning-Zeijl und mich, wie wir meiner Tochter dieses Ständchen zu ihrem 21. Geburtstag bringen. Denn in THIS ONE MOMENT geht es um ihre Geburt an einem schönen Aprilmorgen 1998. Es ist der zweite Satz meiner Afrikanischen Suite Nr. 27 TELL THEM I'VE HAD A WONDERFUL LIFE, mutmaßlich der letzte Satz Ludwig Wittgensteins. Das Stück hat eine...
Dies ist der zweite Satz meiner 18. afrikanischen Suite IMIBALA YENJABULO (Die Farben des Glücks), die ich 2017 für die taiwanesische Blockflötenlegende Meng-Heng Chen geschrieben habe. Diese Aufnahme hier entstand bei einem Konzert zu Ehren meiner Werke im November 2018 in Plön mit meiner langjährigen Hamburger Musikerfreundin Ebba-Maria Künning-Zeijl. Vermutlich aufgrund dieses Videos wurde...

Biographie

Sören Sieg wurde 1966 in Elmshorn geboren und lernte bereits als Kind Blockflöte, Violine und Klavier. Er studierte Soziologie, Politik und Musik in Hamburg und Bielefeld und tourte 18 Jahre lang mit dem a-cappella-Comedy-Quartett LaLeLu durch die Republik. Von 2009 bis 2013 schrieb er die Kolumne Schönen Sonntag für den Bremer Weser-Kurier. Nach zehn Programmen und 2000 Konzerten verabschiedete er sich 2012 von LaLeLu und lebt seither als freier Schriftsteller und Komponist in Hamburg. Er veröffentlichte bislang zehn Bücher und zahlreiche Werke für moderne Kammermusik. weiterlesen »