Njagala Nnyimba for Recorder Quintet

African Suite No. 17

For Recorder Quintet SATTB

Score and five Parts.
First Movement: Jangu wano (Come here!)
Second Movement: Ekibuzo (The Question)
Third Movement: Myel me yom cwinyi (Dance of Joy)

Njagala Nnyimba in Luganda (one of the 40 languages spoken in Uganda) means I love music and the people of Uganda really do love music! Nowhere in Black Africa have I found a more positive, relaxed and chill atmosphere than in the "Pearl of Africa", as Churchill once called it. The tropical climate makes everything blossom and sprout, jungle and palm trees, cacao, coffee, tea, coconut and all kinds of exotic fruits and vegetables. Still it is not too hot, and areas such as the Viktoria Lake and the White Nile really seem like paradise on earth. The traffic is slow (probably due to the many holes in the streets!) and the people are incredibly friendly, generous, humorous and proud of their country. Furthermore, you are surrounded by cheerful music literally everywhere. Just watch some Ugandan music videos and you'll see terrific dancing to completely carefree music. I hope I managed to catch some of this wonderful atmosphere in this piece. The first movement is a kind of welcome celebration, The second is calmer and describes the view on the tranquil Victoria Lake from a boat that floats in the mild evening light while you ask yourself questions about your life. The third feels like little children rolling and running down a hill; funny and naughty children like the ones I found everywhere in Uganda, who were keen on group selfies with a Muzungu (white man). You don't have to look for them - they will be looking for you!

This version is the transcription of the piece for Recorder Quintet SATTB.

Here you see two wonderful videos from Japan, performed by the Enfys Recorder Ensemble:

1. Satz: Jangu wano (Come here!)

3. Satz: Myel me yom cwinyi (Dance of Joy)

number of pages: 
24,90 Euro