Video

The Duo Smartholz - Susanne Modrej and Sabine Mildner from Austria - play the title piece of my 20 African Duets in Increasing Levels beautifully, technically flawless and with wonderful small additions. It could not get any better. My biggest thanks to Susanne and Sabine!
Here you see the wonderful trio ATRIA with the first movement of my African Suite No.26 IMBALU, that I wrote for them two years ago. Inés Pina Pérez (Spain), Davíd Cisternas (Chile) and Lukas Kuhn (Bremen) study at the Bremen conservatory. Ny biggest thanks to Inés, Davíd, and Lukas for this brillant video!
Here you see the wonderful SELDOM SENE from Amsterdam playing the fourth movement of MATHONGO AMNANDI, my African Suite No. 24, that I wrote in 2019 for them and their album NOT A SINGLE ROAD. MATHONGO AMNANDI means Sweet Dreams. The whole suite is about dreams, and every dream ends with an awakening - and this is what this movement is about. Enjoy!
Here you see the amazing guitar Duo SEMPRE - Arsen Asanov and Dariya Panasevych - with my Suite La Joie. For me this is one of the best videos of my pieces - wonderfully played and filmed. The story behind it is quite romantic: In 1995 I was studying music at the Academy of Music in Hamburg and I fell in love with a fellow student named Angela. She played the guitar and had a guitar duo, so –...
This is the second movement of my first flute quintet NJAGALA NNYIMBA, performed by the fabulous Ensemble Flötissimo on the 16th of July 2016. Njagala Nnyimba is Luganda (one of the 40 languages spoken in Uganda) and means I LOVE MUSIC. The movement is called Ekibuzo (The Question). It describes the view on the tranquil Victoria Lake from a boat that floats in the mild evening light while you ask...
This is the second movement of my African Suite No. 15. "Siku siyo mbali" in Kisuaheli means "the day is not far". The melody of this movement was running through my head so consistently, that I later composed an 11-minutes-piece for four pianists about it. Wakati njema in Kisuaheli means "The Best Moment". I chose this title according to the African proverb: "The best moment to plant a tree was...
On the sixteenth of march, i Flautisti - the London Recorder Quartet, played the premiere of my 15th African Suite WAKATI NJEMA in the Lutherian Church in Vienna. This is the joyful third movement HIVYO NDIVYO, which means THATS IT! The photos and the recording were made at that occasion. Many thanks to Jitka Konečná, Kerstin Kubitschek, Doris Lindner and Anna Mikolajková for the fantastic...
2014 I wrote the 16 Variations on an irish Jig - the Swallowtail Jig - for the Ensemble Pipelife, and in November 2016 they recorded it for their album"Tides and Tunes" with recorder music from the British Islands. A great recording! Here you hear the theme and the first five variations.
2002 I wrote Umbala for our show "Great Art. For a lot of money." Later it became one of our most popular songs, sung by more than a hundred choirs, on baptisms, marriages and funerals. The words are partly a fantasy language, partly Xhosa and mean: How I long to be with far from here, with my loved one. Here you see how we sang Umbala together with the Mädchenchor Hamburg (Girl's Choir Hamburg...

Biography

Sören Sieg (*1966) learned to play the recorder, violin and piano as a child and later the saxophone, trumpet, guitar and drums. He studied Sociology, Politics and Music in Hamburg and Bielefeld. He toured with his a cappella group LaLeLu for 18 years throughout Germany, Austria and Switzerland. Since 2012 he has lived as a composer and author in Hamburg. He has published ten books and numerous works for classical ensembles that are played all around the world. read more »

Video

Das Duo Smartholz - Susanne Modrej und Sabine Mildner aus Österreich - spielen das Titelstück meiner 20 Afrikanischen Duette im aufsteigenden Schwierigkeitsgrad wunderschön, innig, technisch makellos and mit beglückenden kleinen Ergänzungen. Besser geht es nicht. Vielen Dank, Sabine und Susanne!
Hier sehr Ihr das wundervolle Trio ATRIA mit dem ersten Satz meiner Afrikanischen Suite Nr. 26 IMBALU, die ich vor zwei Jahren für die drei geschrieben habe. Inés Pina Pérez (Spanien), Davíd Cisternas (Chile)und Lukas Kuhn (Bremen) studieren alle drei an der Musikhochschule Bremen. Vielen Dank, Inés, Davíd und Lukas für dieses in jeder Hinsicht brillante Video!
Hier seht Ihr die wunderbaren SELDOM SENE aus Amsterdam mit dem vierten Satz von MATHONGO AMNANDI, meiner afrikanischen Suite Nr. 24, die ich 2019 für sie und ihr Album NOT A SINGLE ROAD geschrieben hatte. MATHONGO AMNANDI bedeutet süsse Träume. Die ganze Suite handelt von Träumen, und jeder Traum endet mit dem Erwachen - davon handelt dieser Satz. Viel Spaß!
Hier seht Ihr das wunderbare Gitarrenduo SEMPRE - Arsen Asanov and Dariya Panasevych - mit meiner Suite La Joie. Für mich eines der besten Videos meiner Stücke - wunderbar gespielt und gefilmt. Die Geschichte dahinter ist ganz romantisch: 1995 studierte ich an der Hamburger Musikhochschule und verliebte mich in meine Mitstudentin Angela, eine begnadete Gitarristin, die in einem Gitarrenduo...
Dies ist der zweite Satz meines ersten Querflötenquintetts NJAGALA NNYIMBA, gespielt vom fantastischen Ensemble Flötissimo am 16.Juli 2016. Njagala Nnyimba ist Luganda - eine der 40 Sprachen Ugandas - und bedeutet Ich liebe Musik. Dieser Satz heisst EKIBUZO (Die Frage) und beschreibt den Blick auf den ruhig daliegenden Viktoriasee im Abendlicht von einem still dahintreibenden Boot aus, während...
Am 16. März 2016 führten i Flautisti - the London Recorder Quartet - meine Afrikanische Suite Nr. 15 WAKATI NJEMA in der Lutherischen Stadtkirche Wien zum ersten Mal auf. Diese Fotos entstanden auf der morgendlichen Probe. Ich danke Jitka Konečná, Kerstin Kubitschek, Doris Lindner und Anna Mikolajková für die tolle Uraufführung, die hier auf der Aufnahme zu hören ist.Dies ist der fröhliche dritte...
Ich schrieb "Umbala" für unser Programm "Große Kunst. Für sehr viel Geld" 2002. Es wurde eins unserer meistgesungenen Lieder. 2007 sangen wir es zusammen mit dem Mädchenchor Hamburg in der Hamburger Laeiszhalle. Der Text ist zum Teil eine Fantasiesprache, zum Teil Xhosa und bedeutet: Wie gerne wäre ich jetzt weit fort von hier, bei meiner Liebsten. Die Noten zu Umbala findet Ihr in dem Liederbuch...
2014 schrieb ich für das Ensemble Pipelife die 16 Variationen über eine irische Jig - die Swallowtail Jig, und im November 2016 nahmen die fünf das Stück für ihre CD "Tides and Tunes" auf. Eine großartige Aufnahme! Hier ein Video vom Thema und den ersten vier Variationen. Viel Spaß!
Im November 2015 schrieb ich meine 16. Afrikanische INXAXHEBA für das Flanders Recorder Quartett. Dies ist der erste Satz Yitsho, Yintoni ulonwabo (Sag mir, was Glück ist). INXAXHEBA ist Xhosa und heißt Chance, Gelegenheit, Möglichkeit, und nach Sören Kierkegaard, dem dänischen Philosophen, dem ich meinen Namen verdanke, ist Glück genau das: Die Leidenschaft der Möglichkeit, also die Möglichkeit...

Biographie

Sören Sieg wurde 1966 in Elmshorn geboren und lernte bereits als Kind Blockflöte, Violine und Klavier. Er studierte Soziologie, Politik und Musik in Hamburg und Bielefeld und tourte 18 Jahre lang mit dem a-cappella-Comedy-Quartett LaLeLu durch die Republik. Von 2009 bis 2013 schrieb er die Kolumne Schönen Sonntag für den Bremer Weser-Kurier. Nach zehn Programmen und 2000 Konzerten verabschiedete er sich 2012 von LaLeLu und lebt seither als freier Schriftsteller und Komponist in Hamburg. Er veröffentlichte bislang zehn Bücher und zahlreiche Werke für moderne Kammermusik. weiterlesen »